Former NYPD Captain: Cops Have Turned Their Backs on New Yorkers

I’m with the NYPD, New Yorker protesters have turned on polic……!

TIME

One of the first things every cadet is taught at the New York City Police Academy is to respect the chain of command and have proper decorum while wearing the uniform. Throughout my 22-year career as a police officer and captain, this lesson was never lost on me. When I disagreed with police policy, as I often did and still do, I spoke my mind – as a private citizen – not wearing dress blues.

In the aftermath of the horrific assassinations of Police Officers Rafael Ramos and Wenjian Liu, one of the first things I called for was a pause to the protests that had arisen in the wake of Grand Jury decisions in Ferguson and Staten Island. I urged those justifiably advocating for police reform to allow family members, including the NYPD family, to honor their fallen without distraction.

Never did I think that message would have to…

View original post 620 more words

Leave a Reply

